Felicia Corsaro-Barbieri and Bill Galvin Named Professors Emeriti

Felicia Corsaro Barbieri, Bill Galvin

This year, Gwynedd Mercy University is recognizing two faculty members as Professors Emeriti for their dedication and contributions to the University, their students, and their fields of study. Congratulations to Felicia Corsaro-Barbieri, PhD and Bill Galvin, MSEd, RRT, CPFT, AE-C, FAARC.

Felicia Corsar-Barbieri, PhD

Felicia Corsaro-Barbieri, PhD began as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry in 1974 and since then has established an outstanding record of teaching. She earned tenure in 1982, reached the rank of full professor in 1985, and in 1991, received the prestigious Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching.

As the lead faculty member in Chemistry, Dr. Corsaro-Barbieri oversees all course materials, including syllabi and lab manuals, and consistently revised courses. Her contributions are crucial not only to address the standards for her own students, but also to serve the needs of the Biology, Nursing, and Health Professions programs, as well as the general education of all undergraduate students. Since 1981, she has directed the work of the Pre-Professional Advisory Office, providing valuable service to students navigating the difficult path into and through graduate education in the health sciences, as well as to faculty invited to collaborate in the process.

Although in her early career as the scholar Dr. Corsaro-Barbieri contributed to the scholarship of discovery through several peer-reviewed articles (1973-73) and later contributed as a co-author to the Handbook of Commonly Prescribed Pediatric Drugs (1999), her more consistent contributions over the decades have been through the scholarship application and integration. She has served as a peer reviewer for The American Biology Teacher since 1998, for instance, and routinely presents at the semi-annual Expanding Your Horizons mini-conferences at Chestnut Hill College. In addition, Dr. Corsaro-Barbieri has been the recipient of two NSF instrumentation grants, as a co-PI (1976-79) and as a PI (1986-89) and participated in the Pennsylvania Department of Community and Economic Development Grant Program in 2010. Dr. Corsaro-Barbieri also wrote the University's first and only successful Pittsburgh Conference National Memorial College Grant in 2014, which resulted in much needed instrumentation for biology and chemistry research, including undergraduate research.

Bill Galvin, MSEd, RRT, CPFT, AE-C, FAARC

Bill Galvin retired in July 2021 as an Assistant Pofessor and Program Director for the Respiratory Care program after 40 years at Gwynedd Mercy University. He is a Registered Respiratory Therapist, a Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist, a Certified Asthma Educator, and a Fellow of the American Association for Respiratory Care. In 2019, he was awarded the prestigious Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching, as a testament to his outstanding teaching, scholarship, and service.

He has significant publishing experience, including numerous articles as the primary author, manuscript and article reviews, and he is the author and editor of a 60-chapter comprehensive textbook, which has been adopted and used by students in Respiratory Care programs nationally.

Professor Galvin has over 100 presentations at the local, state, and national level and served as a guest presenter for the American Association for Respiratory Care's (AARC) Educator Academy, the AARC Asthma Educator Certification Course, the AARC COPD Educator Course, and the AARC Registry Prep Course. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care.

Over his career, Professor Galvin has been recognized for his contributions to GMercyU and the field of Respiratory Care including the following: inducted into the AARC Fellowship program and recipient of the Education Section Practictionar of the Year Award (2005); Jimmy A. Young Medal (2015), the highest honor bestowed by the AARC; Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award from the Pennsylvania Society for Respiratory Care (2016); A. Gerald Shapiro Award for professional service from the New Jersey Society for Respiratory Care (2021); Mike West Patient Education Achievement Award; and the H. Fred Helmholtz Distinguished Lecturer Award.