Teaching and Learning Innovation

Teaching and Learning Innovation
Mission

The Teaching and Learning Innovation Department supports faculty, staff, and students in their pursuit of innovative strategies for teaching and learning and in their scholarly activities. TLI will offer various services to advance our faculty development.


Contact

Location: University Hall West, 2nd floor
Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., in person and virtual appointments
Email: TLI@gmercyu.edu 
Schedule a one-on-one appointment

Department Details

Travis Meister
Travis Meister
Director of Teaching and Learning Innovation
meister.t@gmercyu.edu 
Office: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday
Remote: Wednesday

Michelle Simms
Michelle Simms
Sr. Technology Trainer
simms.m@gmercyu.edu
Office: Tuesday, Thursday
Remote: Monday, Wednesday, Friday

Soyoung Kang
SoYoung Kang
Instructional Designer
kang.s@gmercyu.edu 
Office: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Remote: Monday

 

Alexandra Weiss
Alex Weiss
Instructional Designer
weiss.a@gmercyu.edu 
Office: Wednesday, Thursday
Remote: Monday, Tuesday, Friday

 

Jennifer Hummel

 

Jennifer Hummel
Instructional Designer
hummel.j@gmercyu.edu
Office: Monday, Thursday
Remote: Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday

 

 

Jessica Burton
Jessica Berton

Junior Instructional Designer
berton.j@gmercyu.edu
Office: Wednesday, Thursday
Remote: Monday, Tuesday, Friday

Training is conducted regularly throughout the year in both group sessions and one-on-one meetings covering a wide variety of topics.

Click here to learn more about the training topics we offer and to sign up for upcoming group trainings.

Or if you'd like to schedule a group training that isn't being offered soon, email us at TLI@gmercyu.edu. If you're more of an independent learner, browse the full list of self-serve tutorials and guides.

Teaching and Learning Technologies are used to support classroom instruction and professional development. Find tutorials and guides here concerning each tool, including:

  • Canvas
  • Microsoft Office 365
  • Zoom, Academic Video Online (AVON)
  • BrainFuse
  • EBSCOhost Connect
  • Grammarly
  • Kaltura
  • Merlot Collection
  • Turnitin
  • Portfolium (Folio)
  • Third-Party, Web-Based Teaching/Learning Tools

If you need assistance, please email TLI@gmercyu.edu

Under construction

Need tech support? See GMercyU's IT Resources here.